Anita Schneider, National FFA Alumni Council member, How to Get Hooked for a Lifetime!

Anita Schneider, National FFA Alumni Council member, recalls why she is so passionate about FFA and will be an active member of the FFA Alumni for life.

It all started about 16 years ago when my two youngest sons decided that their FFA association needed an Alumni affiliate to help them out. My husband was not able to attend the reorganization meeting so they asked me to attend and help them. I did attend the meeting and by the end of the night they had volunteered me to serve on the local council to assist in getting it organized. My youngest son was the first WaKeeney student to attend WLC through the encouragement and assistance of the newly reorganized Alumni.

Well, that in short, is how I got started and I have not regretted it for one minute. It was their enthusiasm and quest for assistance that encouraged me more and it has been the love for this organization and ability to help so many other young people that has keeps me coming back. Being an advocate for agriculture and getting to know more about the organization and the youth has been very rewarding to me. After serving in numerous capacities for the local organization I decided to branch out and get more involved with the state level. To help even more young people to experience things they would not be able to without the alumni has been my quest.

After serving as a sponsor to the National FFA convention and seeing that awesome wave of blue jackets and experiencing the excitement, I felt a need to get involved on the national level. Trying to learn even more about the organization, becoming a part of this nationwide family and helping more FFA members has been one of my most rewarding experiences. If you believe in the future of agriculture and our youth; I strongly recommend that you become active in the FFA Alumni Association.

Leave a comment